Thursday, November 8, 2012

November Update!

 Like all my posts, this is going to randomish and all overish. That's how my brain works I suppose :-P

September and October went by so fast. Mostly because of our visitors I think. My father in law was here for 1 week, then my mom was here for 2 weeks and then my mother in law was here for 2 weeks too. We did a bunch of fun stuff with all of them and I'm glad they came, but it is good to be back into our routines.

I've been doing harder workouts starting this month because I didn't go to the gym at all when people were here. Our YMCA here is so awesome, I love being there. Baby boy loves it too. He walks right in, says hello to his favorite girls and goes on about his way playing with stuff. Eden is still doing swim lessons and is still doing awesome! She started a tumbling class tonight as well. She has fun and could do everything they asked her to do.          

Fall is almost over here. The pretty leaves are falling and it's been raining. I have finally have green grass again :)

Halloween was so fun! First we went to Eden's Halloween ay at school. Then we went trick or treating on Bay Street, (the main street in Port Orchard) where all the stores were giving out candy. Thhennn we went trick or treating at houses around a neighborhood near our house. Edo was a peacock and Mitchell was a little old man :) Mitch and I made their costumes, even Mitchell's walker.

I think this is the last year that Eden wont notice her candy disappearing... :) However, I still have some years on Mitchell haha.
            
Obama was elected president again. I didn't vote for him (fyi not Romney either) but I'm not sad about it. My personal belief is that he has good intentions, but very little back bone when up against disagreeing bazillionaires and stubborn republicans. Ah well, I hope he brings the troops home this go round and doesn't screw up my tricare insurance.

On a completely different note I'm all caught up with Greys Anatomy and Sons of Anarchy. Why the flip are they killing off people I love?? Seriously, I'm a fool the way I cry over these shows like I actually know these fictional characters. Yet I still watch them. Damn you television show writers!! If you watch either or both of these shows, I know you will agree. If you don't watch either of them...don't start because you'll question your sanity while crying over a biker getting beat to death in prison.

To end this post, here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure! (Please excuse my messy house and pantsless babies)

Mitch told me he was going to smile nice. mhm,
Edo the Burrito game

Getting out of the burrito
Circus tricks



Thursday, October 11, 2012

You've got to be kidding me

So it's time for a rant.

Someone recently told Mitch that he couldn't believe that we would actually let a gay person babysit our children.

IT BLOWS MY MIND. How can you actually be so ignorant?

"They're perverts" is what he said.  Just because someone is gay does not mean they are a pervert. That is an actual fact, not an opinion. A sad thing about this guy is that he has 3 kids. Hopefully those poor kids being raised in such a closed minded environment will realize one day that their father was wrong. They are going to miss out on knowing some great people if they follow in his footsteps. I feel like not being friends with someone because they are gay is about as ridiculous as not being friends with someone because they like eating carrots and you don't.

He also legitimately believes that women are not capable of intelligent thought. Right.

Teach your kids tolerance and acceptance. Stop with the hate and ignorance already!!!!

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Fally Fall

This is going to be a randomish, all over the place kind of update.

We are full swing back into our non summer schedules. Edo is happy to be back at school and swim lessons. I am happy for structure in my day again! Mitch has been working like crazy. Last week he worked every night until 830 and he leaves at 530 in the morning. It sucks.

My mama and my good buddy Heather came to visit last month! We did lots of fun stuff and it was awesome having them here. It makes me realize how much I really, really do miss my friends and family. My mom was here for 2 weeks and Heather was here for 1 week. I miss them.

Little Mitchell has such a funny little personality that is developing so fast. He knows a bunch of signs now too.

The kids got their pictures taken today. I'm pretty sure they aren't going to come out that great. Trying to get 2 kids to look in the same direction for more than 3 seconds is pretty impossible. We were outside too, so Mitchell was trying to dig in the dirt and Eden was getting dirty...ugh. Hopefully I get one good picture.

I can't stop eating fooood. AH. Exercising alone isn't doing anything. I love stuffing my face, dessert, chocolate, eating a bowl of cereal before I go to sleep...ect. So basically right now I'm just whining. I know the answer to my problem and am not doing anything about it.

Eden is going to be 5 next Monday. 5 sounds so old. My baby :( We are having a birthday party for her here at the house with a bouncey house. Should be fun!

Mitch has duty tonight so I'm going to clean and then go to bed and watch Batman. Oh, and speaking of movies Our Idiot Brother was good! We watched it the other night.


xoxo




Wednesday, August 29, 2012

End of summer

I'm so sad that summer is almost over :( I like autumn, but I'm not ready for it yet.

We are settling into our new house. It feels like a mansion compared to the "farm." So our crazed ex-land lord did our walk through, returned our security deposit and is now saying she's going to sue us for stuff that was already wrong with the place before we got there. Our neighbors warned us that she was "sue happy." Sad for her that she continues to live up to everyone in the areas disappointing expectations. Oh well, she has no case and I hope she just drops it. What a waste of time! The only thing I miss about that house is the yard. Eden totally misses it too, but that's the only thing.


We went to New York and it was so fun :) I just wish we had a little more time because there are a lot of people we didn't get to see. We went to Can Ams rugby tourny and my team made it to the championship game! Mitch's team didn't make it so far, but it's still fun regardless. We were both so sore after a weekend of slamming into people. "So sore" is really not even how I would describe it...If you had fallen out of a huge tree then rolled down a mountain and then been trampled by a bunch of horses you might start to feel what I felt like. Oh and I was super sun burned too. Strangely, it's worth it and I would do it again 100 times over. We brought the kids and they had fun and were awesome too! It was cool to be able to share rugby and Can Ams with my whole family. We were really thankful to be able to spend time with family and friends who we have missed so freakin much. Mitch even added New York to the list of possible places to "end up" one day :-) I forgot my camera, which sucked but oh well.

Matty and Ariel came to visit us when we got back! I can't even tell you how happy I was to have them here. I literally went to sleep smiling (like a huge dork haha) the first night they were here. I can't believe I missed her whole pregnancy and now she has a little baby that I have been waiting for her to have for years and don't get to see him :( We really do like it out here, but being away from everyone we love sucks.

The baby is a toddler now, toddling all over and everywhere. It's so cute and exciting, yet so sad. He lovesss the dang chickens. You can't really even say chicken around him or he will get all excited, start saying "chicky chicky!" and think he's going outside to see them. If you don't take him out, he throws a little fit at the back door. He's falling asleep in his crib by himself now, without mama holding him until he falls asleep. This is actually more of an accomplishment for me I think though...I'll cut the cord some day. ....maybe.

Eden has managed to cut her dolls hair and her own eye lashes, and drew a bunch of pictures on the front of her desk "because it wasn't beautiful enough" and has since had her arts and crafts things taken away. She can't wait to be back in school and I can't wait either! She is quite the little artist lately, aside from the things I just mentioned. Mitch and I are so impressed. She drew this bird that I don't think I could even have done a better job, honestly. She's just impressive all around.

We've been hiking a bunch of times, discovered some new restaurants around the area that we liked, been to some bbqs, read some books, just a lot of hanging out in general I guess and just like that summers gone.  Eden goes back to school soon and we will be back into our routines.


quick funny story- We went to a posh restaurant last week. One of the last courses was a cheese and fruit course. Mitch told the waiter that the cheese tasted like "band-aids and basketballs." I was kicking him with my high heels under the table to try and get him to stop talking, but was also laughing at the same time. The guy was so offended because the cheese "was imported directly from France" blah blah. Yup, band-aids and basketballs haha. Oh goodness, I love my hill billy husband.  :)





Mitchell and our friends baby, Alaina at Lowes. They're too cute.

Moving day!

Eden the nature girl!







Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Well, it's been just about forever since I've written on here.

WE ARE MOVING OFF THE MOUNTAIN!

We bought a house in a town called Port Orchard. It's closer to everything, (work, stores, school, ect.) has cable internet and cell phone service. We are joining civilization again! Hopefully we will be moving our stuff by the end of the week. Who knew buying a house was such a pain in the butt. Months of doing this and that and signing things and the WAITING. Good gravy, the house buying business is NOT for impatient people (like me). Mitch picked the house. It's got a really nice back yard, the inside can be redone over time and it's not going to snow and trap me up on top of a mountain with unplowed dirt roads so that's awesome.






As for family summer updates:

I haven't been doing rugby this summer because we've just been busy and stuff. I'll start in the fall again because we'll be MUCH closer and I wont have to drive an hour there and an hour back to practice. I went to a Navy wife meeting thing to try and make some friends to hike or go out with and that didn't work out, kind of as expected.

Eden is riding her bike with no training wheels! It took about 3 days of whining and falling but once she got it she lovveddd it. She rides every day now and calls her bike "the cheetah bike" because she goes so fast ha! It was super frustrating for Mitch and I, we almost pulled our hair out saying "pedal, pedal, pedal, pedal....." and then she wouldn't. It was worth it haha. (Ignore the baby grunting and my old lady laughing in the video lol)


 She's also in swim lessons again. She got to advance to the next level. She's a super pike now :) School ended in June and now she's driving me crazy without having other little people to run around and play with on a daily basis. She is writing letters to people to keep up her penmanship and spelling. If you would like a pen pal, send her a letter! She reads a book to me every day too.

The baby took his first steps the other day! He was going after my ice cream...go figure. I'm pretty sure he didn't even realize that he was walking because he was in a "must get sugar" trance. As my mom says "he is most definitely the product of two sugar fiends." He will be 1 next week. Holy cow, time flies. He can do some more tricks now too. He can brush his hair when you ask him too, he shrugs his shoulders when you say "I don't know," He will head butt you if you ask him too (dads trick haha), If you say "awww" he'll give you a cuddle or cuddle the toy he's holding, he will go get a ball if you ask him to and he'll give you what he has in his hand or mouth if you ask him to. He has 8 teeth now and eats pretty much everything :)

Mitch is still not liking his job. He rides his bike to work most days, which is 17 miles each way UP a LOT of hills. It's crazy.  His chickens started laying eggs the other day and he was SO stoked. He made an egg sandwich for breakfast the other morning and said it tasted like success :-P


Hmm... in other fun summery news we've been camping  a few times, Mitch's mom and and brother came out to see us and we have been trying to enjoy the sun as much as we can!









OH, and WE ARE GOING TO NEW YORK!!! In a couple weeks :) I wish we could stay longer than we are going to but, the Navy of course doesn't think that's cool. I Caaaann'ttttt WAIT :) Woo Hoo!!!!

TTFN xoxo


Friday, April 27, 2012

You Are My Sunshine :)

Sooooo last weekend was awesome. On Friday Mitch and I went to an Italian place in Poulsbo. We had a very fun dinner! The food was just alright, not fantastic but we'll probably go there again some time. We came to the conclusion that Italian food on the east coast will probably always be better than it is on the west. After dinner we went to Cold Stone!

Randomly here's a couple tips for servers at restaurants (serving to people such as Mitch and myself).
1.  Be polite.
2. Don't make us wait forever to speak to us when we sit down. Even saying "I'll be right with you" is better than saying nothing and ignoring us.
3. Keep our drinks filled. I'm nursing, so I'm always thirsty and want my drink asap. Also, Mitch is usually always open to trying a new beer or a beer special you are running. If you don't offer it, it's your loss.
4. We love eating a lot. If you suggest an appetizer or dessert we pretty much always say yes. If you don't ask though, or bring the check before we are done with our meal, that's totally your loss on a better tip. Andd if there's some delicious chocolate thing I want and you didn't give me the opportunity to eat it, it will lessen your tip. 
5. Be friendly. I'm out to dinner to have fun with my family or husband to have fun, not to deal with whatever made you unhappy that day. It is your job to be nice to us.
6. We are awesome tippers if you're an awesome server.

On Saturday, I had a rugby game. It went pretty well. I had an awesome run and scored in the second half, so that was cool. However, one of the girls chasing me was 3/4 bear. I didn't see her face, but she was growling behind me. Like legit growling. Not like huffing and puffing while running. I'm absolutely certain that if I didn't score she would have chewed off my limbs right there on the pitch. Needless to say it made me run faster. I need to pick up my aggression and lose my hesitations though. After the game we bought a volleyball/badminton net and played that and barbequed some yummy dinner. It was beautiful outside and it was fun. I am truly thankful that my husband and I enjoy each others company so much.

Eden can float on her back by herself now :) She's the only kid in her lesson that can do it, and easily the best swimmer overall. Her teacher has gotten better as well. Mitchell is trying to stand by himself now. I think he'll walk by the time he's 1. He's clapping now too, which is so freakin cute. I feel like he does something new every day. They grow so fast. People always say that, but holy cow is it true.

Some more randomness real quick-
1. Wrinkly skin feeling is gross and I hate it. Doing the dishes and living in a place that drizzles rain 80% of the time make for plenty of  wrinkly skin...EW.
2. Laundry is never ever ever ever ending this house. Between rugby, working out, uniforms, baby drool, mud, and everything else under the sun I am always washing, drying and folding clothes. *sigh*
3. Oz is a messed up show, yet some how I keep watching it. 

Tomorrow is game day! Last one of the season. I made ambrosia salad for the social afterward. Yumm!!





Sunday, April 15, 2012

Saturday's a rugby day!

So Saturday was awesome. We woke up got some breakfast and headed down to Tacoma for my rugby game. The field we play at has a playground right next to it, so it's awesome for Eden. I even brought her to practice with me the other day. I can keep an eye on her from the field while she's playing. Mitch had the baby in the backpack and he was really good. I played wing and full back. I actually did better playing at fb than I did at wing. It was much better than the last game. I still have a lot to work on but it wasn't the suckfest that happened before. Mitch was helping me from the sidelines too, which was cool. I guess I must have gotten stepped on too at some point. I can't even say when, but my toes are blue and purple. gross.

After the game we decided to meet up with Mitch's buddy Kent and go for a hike. I wore flip flops because there was no way I was putting shoes back on. My toes hurt! It wasn't bad at all actually. Mitch and Kent went up ahead and the babies and I took our time and had fun. Being outside with my babies is awesome. People on the trail were looking at me all weird because of my flip flops and rugby stuff on still haha. Oh well!

We came home and Mitch grilled some pork chops that we marinaded in pineapple juice and beer...weird right? Well it came out pretty good actually.

The baby has started waving hi and bye now! It is THE cutest thing. Sometimes I yell at Eden for being to rough or loud around the baby and I look over at him and he's laughing his little butt off. I guess he's learned to embrace the tornado that is Eden rather than run for cover haha.

Ta ta friends xoxo

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Spring!

It's starting to warm up! Woo hoo! Eden and I have been playing outside a lot. I put Mitchell in the back pack and he loves it. We don't even have to be doing anything and he is content just to be outdoors :)  I have a bunch of seeds that I am going to use to start my garden soon. Fresh veggies yesssss!

The baby is saying "mama" now! Which is sooo awesome. Eden said every word under the sun before she said it. He has 2 more teeth and 1 about to poke through. Poor kid, teething is rough. I got him a new stroller today so he wouldn't have to ride in Eden's pink flowery one. So tonight is night 2 of putting the baby to sleep without feeding him until he falls asleep. My little piglet is not happy about it, but it must be done.

Eden started swim lessons on Monday! Her teacher is kind of jerk wad though, in my opinion. I'm about 88% sure that she's never dealt with a 3-4 age group before. She has such little patience with nervous little kids. Eden is fearless and picks things up quick so she hasn't picked on her (yet). She's not very nice to some of the other little kids though who don't do what she asks the first time she asks. If I was their parent, I would certainly say something to her. In the event that she acts like a jerk to Eden, she will be sorry that she did. Any hooo, she's doing well and is having tons of fun. Her reading is coming along awesome. She told Mitch that she can't wait to have a kindle like him :)

So Mitch and I went to a fancy dinner on Easter in Seattle. It was fun and the food was really good. We both got seafood and wine. I got to drink chardonnay, which was cool because Mitch and I usually compromise on something like a cabernet sauvignon. The Easter bunny came and hid eggs all over the house and outside :) Eden in past years has only been mildly into finding eggs. This year was much better. Mitch loves hiding the eggs. Edo and I also made a tye dye cake with a bunny on it for our neighbors too. It came out pretty cool.

Mitch and his buddy Kent went on a little survivor man night last week. They pretended all was in chaos and they had to escape to the woods with the bare minimum of things, no tent for example. (They also bailed on their families, which I appreciated since I didn't have to sleep out in the wet and cold haha) Turns out they survived, but looked pretty tired when they came back the next morning.

I have a rugby game on Saturday. I'm hoping it goes better than the last one. Mitch has kinda been helping me with skills so we'll see.

That's all for now friends. xoxo

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Sunday

Happy April Fools! I wrote on Facebook that I was pregnant and my mom, and 2 of my best friends believed it. Really ladies?? haha. I tried to tell Mitch that and I couldn't fool him haha.

The babies and I played out in the sun today. It wasn't exactly warm, but when the sun is out here in Washington you need to take advantage! Eden showed me all of her "castles" which are sweet little spots she's made for herself in the trees around our house. It was actually pretty cool. The lady that lived here before us  was super tacky and the yard was covered in all kinds of stuff. Well Eden has decorated her little forts with bird houses, wind chimes, sea shells and whatever else she could find. I remember doing that stuff when I was little, it was fun.

So this past week something or someone got 5 out of our 6 chickens. Mitch was so sad that I went and bought him 4 new chickies at the farm store when he went to work. Eden still has hopes that the other ones will come back :( The one that lived/wasn't seen was Katniss, and I just went out there today and she's freakin gone now too :( (I'm kinda Hunger Games obsessed. Still haven't seen the movie though.)

After a bunch of sleepless nights, little baby has another tooth. His two front teeth are almost through too. Poor kid is chowing on everything. Needless to say I've been a zombie walking around all sleepy lately. It's kind of messed up my workout schedule too. I'm feeling all fattish again.

We've been in Washington for 6 months now, kinda nuts.

I missed one of my best friends baby shower last weekend and another friends wedding this weekend. However, I did receive favors from the shower and a phone call of friends singing Billie Jean to me from the wedding! :)

I was going to read before bed tonight, but I'm so tired I think I'm just going to go bed!

xoxo

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Throwing a pity party, who's coming?

Sooooo we had plans to go to New York at the end of this month, but once again Mitch's work screwed him over. They approved his leave so we bought plane tickets and then they decided that they didn't want him to leave after all. Well perfect. Now we aren't going and everyone is sad. Thanks, Navy.

The baby is walking around holding onto things. Eden is reading like a champ. My kids make me so proud. Mitch's work schedule is so sucky. At this point I would almost rather have the previous sucky work schedule that he had in New York.

I can't wait to leave this house. The only thing I do like is the land we have around it. Eden loves it and is able to play outside all the time. It's so small and thinking about people staying here with us, even though I want to see them makes me want to have a claustrophobic anxiety attack. I'll have to get over it I guess.

I hate cooking. I would be content with soup and sandwiches probably forever. Darn my want to expose my family to all good things in life, including a healthy variety of foods. I actually kind of like baking, but feel guilty eating what I make.

I'm going to interview some babysitters next week or this weekend. I'm so hesitant to let anyone I don't know watch my babies. Seriously though, I haven't hung out with just Mitch since before the baby was born (8 months ago) and I haven't even made any friends that I can hang or go out with here yet. So lame.

I have about 14,000 other complaints, but I think I'll stop here tonight. Yes, I do know that I have a lot to be thankful for, and I am. It's just hard right now to feel legitimately happy right this second.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Snowed in...again.

Well, today it's just the baby and I. He's getting another tooth so he's feeling crummy and just wanting to sleep and snuggle.

I had my first rugby game in about 2 years this past weekend. Apparently expecting to be at the same level as I was at before having a baby was silly. I played absolutely awful. I can't really think of anything I did that was good at all. I don't remember the last time I was so disappointed in myself. It was totally made me feel like I should just quit. While that's not like me to say, that's how bad it was.

Any hooo, St. Patricks day is Saturday! Eden and I made a leprechaun trap. I'm going to mess up the house a little bit and then leave a note from the leprechaun saying that he was looking for gold and that he got out of her trap, but she was clever for louring him with gold chocolates ;)

I guess it's really nice in New York. I can't wait to be there SOON! Woo hoooo! It's so snowy here again! Once again, we are trapped up on the dang mountain until it melts a little. Our dirt road doesn't get plowed :( Eden loves it.

Eden had her first trip to the dentist today! She did awesome, as expected. She got a cool toothbrush with fish on it and a little football ring.

Mitch came home with some awesome gourmet chocolates for me yesterday. I am the luckiest wife ever. He's the best. He has duty tonight (a 24 hour shift), which he has every 3 days. It sucks. We miss him a lot.

xoxo

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

blog uno

Well, since I obviously need something else on the computer other than stalkbook and pinterest to entertain me (or rather distract me from house work while the kids are sleeping) I thought I would join the blogging world!

So here's the 2012 update:

Husband was deployed for 70 something days which was terrible. He got back in February and I have no idea how military families do it for longer. Since he is on a submarine, he obviously can't get on a phone so I didn't get to talk to him but I did get emails every now and then. Anyways he is very happy to be home and has since bought 6 chickens and 2 rabbits (I named them after The Hunger Games characters because I'm a little obsessed with the trilogy). I'm not too into the whole farm animals thing, but he's happy with them and I don't really have to do anything so that's that. 

Eden is excelling in school. We have been working on her reading and she just does it like she's always known how. She amazes me. She's also writing and spelling words out on her own. She's made lots of little friends and her teachers are so great. I couldn't be happier with a school for her. She has become quite the awesome little hiker with me as well. This comes at no surprise to me since I have been taking her since she could hold her head up, but still very cool. Being 4 years old seems to be a little easier than being 3. She is able to control her outbursts and tantrums better, however she is quite the quick witted little stinker at times now. Mitch and I love that about her though. She totally uses Mitch's smartassness (yup that's a word) against him which I find hilarious.

Mitchell Jr. is growing too fast. My baby is pulling himself up to standing, crawling around and has 2 teeth. Where has the time gone? Separation anxiety is a little bit of an understatement to describe what how he reacts when he's not attached to me. He's a mamas boy and I have to admit I suffer from some separation anxiety too when I'm not around him (which isn't even often at all)! He's still sleeping in his co-sleeper next to our bed because I can't stand the thought of him sleeping in his room on the other side of the house. And he still wakes up in the night. When he finally sleeps through a night, I'm throwing a party! During the day of course so that I can take advantage of actually sleeping :) His little laugh, smile and blonde poofy baby hair just melt my heart.

Last of course, ME. I've joined a rugby team in Tacoma. I hope it works out. The drive is kinda far and the games are really far so we'll see. I just miss the sport so much!! The baby and I go to the YMCA while Eden is in school so I'm getting back in shape which is cool. However, my love for cookies, ice cream, french fries and CHOCOLATE make it difficult to look the way I want to. I'm liking Washington, but miss my friends and family in New York!!!!

That about sums us all up :) xoxo